Education in Papua New Guinea is managed through nineteen provinces and two district organisational units. In the 1980s, up to year 12 (matriculation) there were:

  • 2600 community schools - grades 1 to 6
  • 120 provincial high schools - grades 7 to 10
  • 5 national high schools - the only institutions offering full-time grades 11 and 12
  • the College of Distance Education - grades 7 to 10
  • the Institute of Distance and Continuing Education (matriculation studies)
  • limited private education provision - pre-school to grade 12.

See the List of schools in Papua New Guinea for a partial listing of preschools, primary schools, secondary schools, vocational education and university bodies' both public and private in Papua New Guinea.

In 2013 there are six Universities in PNG. These Universities are accredited under the PNG Office of Higher Education and have establishing Acts of Parliament.
The six Universities and the main campus of each - in alphabetical order:

  • Divine Word University in Madang
  • Pacific Adventist University in Port Moresby
  • University of Goroka in Goroka
  • University of PNG in Port Moresby
  • University of Natural Resources and Environment in Vudal with associated campuses in Popondetta, Kavieng and Sepik
  • University of Technology (Unitech) in Lae.